God Bless the Flagwavers

Posted: July 4, 2011 in Life, Writing
Tags: , , , , , ,

Every day from my office window I see three American flags. One flies over the American Legion Post #8 cabin that sits on the banks of the Missouri River (with the flood, unfortunately, it’s temporarily relocating to higher ground). One flies over the outfield at Hyde Stadium, the baseball field across the creek from my office building. And one flies over a hometown bank one block down from where I work.  All three are perfectly framed in my window, waving in unison.

I have a similar view at home, thanks to my neighbor.  A military veteran, every morning he raises the flag on the big flagpole next to his driveway, hoisting the colors into the sky above him where they’ll proudly fly until dusk.

These flags, and many others in similar locations, fly every day, regardless of the date or the weather. At full staff in times of pride and celebration, half staff in moments of remembrance and honor. Every day, without fail. Should we celebrate Independence Day every day? From what I can see, we already do. Happy 4th.

So, what do you think? I'm listening!

