Word to My Mother

Posted: August 15, 2011 in Life
Tags: , , , ,

Six years ago today my mother died of cancer at the age of 62.

Five years ago today I drove to Minneapolis to do a 60-mile cancer walk in her honor.

Four years ago today I read every saved letter and email I had from her and cried.

Three years ago today I got drunk in a bar while toasting to her memory.

Two years ago today I looked through old pictures of her and smiled.

One year ago today I wrote a story about her that’s just for me.

Today I still miss her.

Tomorrow I’ll miss her more.

Comments
  1. Kelly,
    I lost my father to cancer, who died at age 62, so I can understand what you are going through. I wrote a poem called, “That Damn Dirty Disease,” but now can’t find it, but if I do, I’ll share it with you. It is always hard to lose a cherished loved one, but it seems so senseless and heartless when they have to suffer like that. The one bright spot in my case was that it gave my father and I time to make amends for the past and gave me an opportunity to serve him as I helped care for him the last several months of his life. This was the hardest thing I’ve ever done, as I can’t stand to see people suffer, but I did it for him.
    My thoughts are with you on this day, Kelly.

    • I would love to read it if you find it, Rita. You and I have traveled some of the same paths. There was a long stretch of years when my mother and I didn’t get along. I made some stupid decisions when I was young that she wasn’t happy with and that clouded our relationship for some time. In the end, I logged many miles going back home to see her and in fact, was scheduled to go home for a visit the day she died. Thanks for the thoughts and the comment, as always. And congrats on little Gunner – he’s a sweet pea, to be sure!

  2. Kay Vallery Young says:

    Yes–tomorrow you WILL miss her more. My sister (in her 80s) and I (in my 70s) were talking about how much we missed OUR mom just last week–and she’s been gone 16 years. There’s never a good time to lose your mom, but the memories just keep getting sweeter.

So, what do you think? I'm listening!

