Heads Up for Flying Elves

Posted: December 24, 2011 in family, Holidays, Life, Radio, remembrance, storytelling
Tags: , , , ,

What's Christmas without elves?

I hadn’t intended to post again before Christmas. Then Meg stopped at the radio station while I was on the air this morning and here we are. Meg is my friend Jody’s mother. I met her years before I really knew Jody but now my association with her is mostly through him…and the radio station. Meg is a loyal listener to my show and on random Saturday mornings, she surprises me with breakfast. Today the donuts and juice came with an unexpected Christmas gift. Because that’s how Meg is.  Which is how MY mother was.

Mine is a family of motherless children. My Dad, husband, brother-in-law, sister and I have all lost our mothers. The period of absence ranges from about five years to nearly 30 years. But that’s neither here nor there; mothers are missed no matter how long they’ve been gone. Christmas is when I miss mine the most because this was HER holiday. She was a reindeer antler-wearing, Christmas-cookie-baking, every-room-in-the-house-decorating, year-long-Christmas-shopping kind of mom. Martha Stewart on her best day, at the top of her game, with a staff of hundreds, couldn’t have topped her.

A good friend of mine lost her mother earlier this year and is celebrating her first Christmas tomorrow without her. Last week she asked me if I had any advice on how to get through it.  The experience is different for everyone but I tried to give her some ideas I thought would help, and I’ll check back with her after the holiday to see how she’s doing.  Her situation and Meg’s visit this morning got me thinking about what a big role my Mom still plays in my Christmas.

My Mom is the Christmas stockings I hang for every member of the family (four-legged included), the Christmas carols I play on the piano, the Christmas brunch I’ll fix tomorrow, the after-Christmas bargains I’ll shop for next week to get a jump on next year. And if you’re lucky enough to catch a glimpse of Santa and his sleigh tonight, look for the elf with angel’s wings flying alongside. That’ll be my Mom, giving him directions, so he doesn’t miss anybody. Because that’s how she was.

Comments
  1. Kay Vallery Young says:

    Great tribute, Kelly! And now we are all fans of your Mom! Sing a little louder during Mass for her (and me). And Merry Christmas!

  2. Merry Christmas, Kelly! Your Mom sounds wonderful! I miss my Dad too, as he loved to come visit for Christmas and my kids loved their grandpa santa.

So, what do you think? I'm listening!

