Those Crazy Mayans

Posted: January 1, 2012 in Blogging, Life, storytelling, Writing
Tags: , , , , , ,

11:58 p.m., December 20, 2012

I was willing to chalk it up to too many fermented berries and home-grown hallucinogens but it turns out those crazy Mayans knew what they were talking about. The world is coming to an end in two minutes and I’m ready.

Like the majority of mankind, I’ve been following the coverage of civilization’s impending demise through the major news channels, periodicals, Internet, and social networks. And while man does not appear to be going quietly elsewhere, there’s peace in my little corner of the spinning sphere. That’s because I made some changes in 2012. Nothing earth-shattering (I left that to the Mayans); just some small adjustments that made a huge difference.

In 2012:

I left the job that was making me crazy and stayed with the one that kept me sane.

I ejected the toxic people in my life and embraced the amazing ones.

I wrote what I really wanted to say and not what I thought others wanted to hear.

I used Grandma’s good silver and the fancy crystal for every day because any day you wake up above ground is a special occasion.

I explored places I’d never been and rediscovered places I’d been before.

I rode my motorcycle any time the weather said I should, even if some people didn’t think that was proper.

I learned to paint – pictures not walls – because the trapped artist in my head finally escaped.

I spent more time reading good books than dusting the living room.

I quit being a copy and became an original.

Sometimes we need a kick in the ass to do the things we should be doing already. In 2012, I got one. Thanks…you crazy Mayans.

And thanks to everyone who joined me on the Wire in 2011. I appreciate your comments, your “likes” and your support. Let’s hang out some more in 2012, shall we? Happy New Year!

 

Birds on a Wire

You're always welcome here on the Wire...

 

Comments
  1. Can I be the kooky looking bird on the left? I hope the world doesn’t end this year, but if it does, we’ll always have wordpress. And SDSU, the haunted mansion, etc. You have always been an original, but cheers to you for your new leaf, or leaves. Can’t wait to see how it all turns out!

  2. Happy New Year, Kelly! Those crazy Mayans seem to have lots of people stirred up, but I love your humorous take on this! And serious! My belief follows the Bible that, “No one knows, not even those crazy Mayans, when the time will come, not even the Son, but only the Father….”
    The important thing is attitude and yours is great! You’re willing to share what you know, entertain us, enlighten us, and make us laugh. You have an amazing gift!

    • Happy New Year, Rita and thanks as always for the kind words. Your “no one knows” reference reminds me of a speech I gave at baccalaureate in high school. It ended with the piece that included the line “The clock of life is wound but once and no one has the power to know just when the hands will stop…” Have a wonderful 2012!

  3. […] a chance email, I wound up with a spot in her latest painting class. You might remember from my “Crazy Mayans” post that learning to paint is one of my goals for […]

  4. […] a chance email, I wound up with a spot in her latest painting class. You might remember from my “Crazy Mayans” post that learning to paint is one of my goals for […]

So, what do you think? I'm listening!

